• 8 th of September / 19.00


    The Crescendo programme begins with the childhood theme illustrated by the thirteen miniature masterpieces that form Robert Schumann’s Kinderszenen(“Scenes from Childhood”) for solo piano. Works by the young Johannes Brahms and likewise youthful Sergei Rachmaninov will take us through the stringed fusion on duet and trio territory towards a fresh, newly commissioned quartet composed by our resident artist Pierre Audiger, in its premiere. The programme culminates with a resounding performance of Cesar Franck’s passionate and uncompromisingly mature Piano Quintet in F minor.

    Robert Schumann – Kinderszenen op.15
    Von fremden Ländern und Menschen (Of Foreign Lands and Peoples)
    Curiose Geschichte (A Curious Story)
    Hasche-Mann (Blind Man’s Buff)
    Bittendes Kind (Pleading Child)
    Glückes genug (Quite Happy)
    Wichtige Bebebenheit (An Important Event)
    Träumerei (Dreaming)
    Am Camin (At the Fireside)
    Ritter vom Steckenpferd (Knight of the Hobby-Horse)
    Fast zu ernst (Almost too Serious)
    Fürchtenmachen (Frightening)
    Kind im Einschlummern (Child Falling Asleep)
    Der Dichter spricht (The Poet Speaks)
    Artist: Graeme McNaught

    Johannes Brahms – Scherzo in C minor opus posthume
    Artists: Graeme McNaught & Kristine Balanas

    Sergey Rachmaninoff – Trio élégiaque no.1 in G minor
    One Movement (più vivo – con anima – appassionato – tempo rubato – risoluto)
    Artists: McNaught, Kristine Balanas & Alberto Cassadei

    Comissioned Piece for Premiere in the Festival
    Artists: Pietro Bonfilio, Bogdan Ciobanu, Pierre Audiger, Alberto Cassadei

    Cesar Franck– Piano quintet in F minor opus 14

    Moltomoderato quasi lento – Allegro
    Lentocon molto sentimento
    Allegronon troppo ma con fuoco

    Artists: Graeme McNaught, Kristine Balaans, Michelle Dierx, Catalina Toma, Alberto Cassadei

“….strong personality !!! ”

 “…an impressive display of character…”


Pierre Audiger is a pianist/composer and actor of the Jean-Laurent Cochet Acting School Paris.

Having graduated as a Piano Scholar from the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland, Pierre has also been composing since the age of 17.

His music, described as being “music of fire and imagination”, has been critically acclaimed and been described as having a “strong personality” and “an impressive display of character”.

During his studies at RCS Pierre was under the tutelage of composer, David Fennessy. In 2015 Pierre won the Walter and Dinah Wolfe Memorial award for Composition for his Piece “Not A Clown” premiered by violinist Ilya Gringolts at the RCS. Multi Award winning Pianist Daniel Ciobanu also commissioned him an encore piece “Paraphrase on Mozart’s 23rd Piano Concert” for Piano and Violin, also premiered in 2015.

Pierre also composed Moremi Ajasoro, written and directed by April Koyejo. Recent events include the premiere of Pierre’s “Piano and Flute Sonata” with flautist Graham Dickson , his Piano Concerto performed as a Duet with pianist Sinae Lee at the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland. His work “Dove Town”, commissioned by Bass Trombone and Piano Duet, The Nicholson Duo was performed in 2017.

Pierre was honoured to be part of the first edition of Neamt Piano Festival 2017 in Romania as composer in residence, his works have been premiered by many talented artists such as Petras Geniusas, Luiza Zan, Ksenia Fedoruk and Anna Dmytrenko. He looks forward to his works being performed at the Morellino Classica Festival in Italy, and the London premiere of the opera Ayanfe co-written with opera singer April Atinuke Koyejo-Audiger.

Pierre is also pursuing his acting career further and looks forward to joining the cast of Caroline Darnay’s play “Ouest End” in Paris, later this year. With the collaboration of writer Louis Pauly and stage director Raphaëlle Cambray, Pierre is also continuously working toward his first one-man-show, which will take place in 2019 in Paris